Society of Biological Psychiatry
72nd Annual Scientific Convention & Meeting
May 18-20, 2017
San Diego,  California


The Gold Medal award was established by the Society of Biological Psychiatry to honor pioneering contributions to the field and for significant and sustained work that advances and extends knowledge in biological psychiatry. 
  1. All scientists working in the field of biological psychiatry including but not limited to individuals from academic institutions, foundations, governmental, industrial and research organizations regardless of age, sex, race or nationality shall be eligible.
  2. Nominees need not be members of the Society of Biological Psychiatry.
  3. The decision of the award committee shall be based on the nominee's scientific accomplishments, their independence, originality, and impact; their development of new concepts, theories and techniques, that constitute a definitive, mature and significant contribution to knowledge sustained over a period of years.
  4. The decision of the award committee shall be final, subject to approval by the Council of the Society. 
  5. An award may be made every year, but the award committee and Council reserve the right to make no award in any year.
  6. Members of the award committee are not eligible to receive the award during their tenure on the award committee.


  1. Members of the Society or members of other national or international scientific associations may submit nominations. 
  2. Submit a letter describing the nominee’s contributions to the field including a list of the candidate's major achievements and a list of up to ten of the candidate's most important publications.
  3. If available, submit a curriculum vitae of the candidate.
  4. The award will be presented by the President of the Society at the 72nd Annual Meeting in San Diego, California on May 19, 2017.
  5. All applications must be submitted on-line.
  6. Nominations must be submitted on-line before or on September 30, 2016.

PREVIOUS RECIPIENTS (partial listing)

2005 Marc A. Schuckit, MD - University of California, San Diego
2006 A. John Rush, MD - University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas
2007 Myrna M. Weissman, PhD - Columbia University
2008 Solomon H. Snyder, MD - The Johns Hopkins University
2009 Bruce S. McEwen, PhD - The Rockefeller University
2010 Charles P. O'Brien, MD, PhD - University of Pennsylvania
2011 Judith L. Rapoport, MD - National Institute of Mental Health
2012 Michael Davis, PhD - Emory University
2013 Eric Nestler, MD, PhD - Mount Sinai Medical Center
2014 Helen S. Mayberg, MD - Emory University

Francine M. Benes, MD, PhD -Harvard University, McLean Hospital
Alan F. Schatzberg, MD - Stanford University

2016 Anthony Grace, PhD - University of Pittsburgh


Society of Biological Psychiatry